In 2010-2011 a programme called the English Speaking League was introduced to the school. Thanks to the Chairperson of the BOGF, Mrs Nellie Fong, a number of successful native speakers of English agreed to be Captains for this programme. These prominent members of society conducted conversation classes with small groups of students after school. 160 students from S1 to S6 participated in this programme. The yearly programme culminated in a certificate presentation ceremony where the students and their Captains shared their experiences and mingled over a cup of tea.


League Captain


Sir David Akers-Jones, KBE, CMG, GBM, JP Former Chief Secretary of Hong Kong
Mr Stephen Selby, JP Adjunct Professor at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Mr James Blake, OBE, JP Former Chief Officer of the KCR
Mr Mark Shuper Co-founder and Executive Director of Sprouts Foundation
Mr Chris Hall Retired Senior Tax Specialist
Dr Gavin Ure
Former Administrative Officer, Hong Kong Government
Adjunct Associate Professor at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Mr Gordon Jones Former Head of the Companies Registry of Hong Kong
Mrs Rachel Cartland Former Associate Director of Social Welfare, Hong Kong Government
Mrs Helen Seaton